Breaking News

FC Cincinnati announces roster decisions

FC Cincinnati announced its roster decisions earlier Tuesday morning and multiple big-name players are, at the moment, not with the team.

FCC declined the options of eight players, of those being Tyler Blackett, Zico Bailey, Geoff Cameron, Allan Cruz, Ronald Matarrita, Nick Markanich, Ben Mines and Beckham Sunderland.

“I’d like to thank the players who are departing FC Cincinnati for their service and dedication to the club,” FC Cincinnati General Manager Chris Albright said. “We wish them all the best for the future,” said Albright.

The side also announced that it exercised the options of Álvaro Barreal, Evan Louro, Junior Moreno, Ian Murphy, and Alvas Powell.

FCC’s release said that “the club remains in discussion” with “some” of its players about their future with the club.

“First, thank you to the players and staff for everything they did to make this a memorable season,” Albright said. “Most importantly, I want to thank the fans for their incredible support all year long. We believe we have a strong core in place to continue to build a team that is worthy of that support, and we look forward to 2023.”

According to Laurel Pfahler on Twitter, Kenneth Vermeer, Dominique Badji and Yuya Kubo will also return next season for FCC.

Following these roster moves, FCC now has 23 players on its rosters.

In the news release, FCC says the team has:

  • Four goalkeepers: Roman Celentano, Alec Kann, Evan Louro, Kenneth Vermeer
  • Six defenders: Álvaro Barreal, Ray Gaddis, Nick Hagglund, Matt Miazga, Ian Murphy, Alvas Powell
  • Six midfielders: Luciano Acosta, Yuya Kubo, Stiven Jimenez, Junior Moreno, Obinna Nwobodo, Harrison Robledo
  • Seven forwards: Isaac Atanga*, Dominique Badji, Brenner, Calvin Harris, Arquimides Ordoñez, Sergio Santos, Brandon Vazquez

Stay tuned for more information on roster moves and check out your CST podcast feeds for indepth analysis.

To Top