CST Photo Team Awards 2023

It was a monumental year of soccer, one the Cincinnati Soccer Talk Photo Team captured in vivid detail. Our team of 10 volunteer photographers covered 46 total matches, which included FC Cincinnati, FCC2, and the U.S. Men’s & Women’s National Teams. These annual awards are to recognize the work they did.

This year, we have three (3) recognitions to share. The first recognition goes to an individual who provided significant coverage of FCC2. This individual was voted on by colleagues and CST listeners. The 2023 CST Award for FCC2 Coverage goes to Megan Lee!

The next recognition is for a CST Photographer who captured a memorable moment. The winning image, which was selected by our Photo Team Coordinator, was captured on June 21st, 2023. The image captures a wide shot of TQL Stadium and 25,513 fans from the top of the Bailey as Luciano Acosta’s goal in the 54th minute sailed past the diving Toronto FC Goalkeeper. The 2023 CST Award for Best Image goes to Scott Huck!

Our final CST Photo Team Award was created last year. It’s an award named after Cincinnati Soccer Talk’s first photographer, Alex Vehr, and was created to recognize and give special thanks to a photographer who has provided a significant amount of their time and energy to deliver stunning imagery. This year’s award winner delivered imagery from 16 events. Their stamina and passion provided imagery of Supporters’ Groups marching through Washington Park to TQL Stadium; imagery of fans celebrating in the Bailey or voicing their disapproval of referee decisions; and imagery of the Orange & Blue in action on the pitch. It was this photographer’s first year contributing to Cincinnati Soccer Talk and we feel very fortunate to have had them as a part of our Team. The 2023 Alex Vehr Honorary Award goes to Brian Mack!

Cincinnati Soccer Talk’s Photo Team is a collection of photographers with different levels of experience. We are thankful for the contributions each delivered this year and would like to recognize them now: Anders Saling, Brian Mack, Rob Moore, Scott Huck, Jack Haggard, Megan Lee, David Starcher, & Brandon Koodish. We’d also like to shout out Jeremy Miller for providing support and advice to team members on match days and Joe Craven for coordinating credentials and keeping the Photo Team organized.

To Top