2021 Awards

2021 FC Cincinnati Fan-Voted Player of the Year

Cincinnati Soccer Talk’s End of Season Awards are back for FC Cincinnati’s third MLS season. Today we announce our 2021 Fan-Voted Player of the Year. 

The votes are in and the election is certified. The CST audience has voted Geoff Cameron as its Player of the Year. In what was the closest vote to date, Cameron won with 29% of the fan vote. Ronald Matarrita finished second with 27% of the vote.

Cameron marks only the fourth FC Cincinnati player to win the fan vote. Harrison Delbridge won in 2016 and 2017, followed by Emmanuel Ledesma in 2018 and 2019 and Haris Medunjanin in 2020.

Cameron made 28 appearances this season for FC Cincinnati, including 26 starts. While former GM Gerard Nijkamp has been panned for his roster construction, his ability to lure Cameron to Cincinnati could go down as his best move.

The veteran immediately plugged the hole in the Cincinnati defense after joining the club from QPR and has been a consistent performer all season. Cameron leads the team in clearances/90 and in accurate passes/90. Those passes aren’t side-to-side either. His seeking through balls have lead to 3 assists which places him in third on the team.

He also is third in interceptions/90 and second in duels won. A player like Cameron was badly needed by Cincinnati. Hopefully some time off will leave him refreshed and allow a duplicate performance next season.

Thanks to all who voted!

To Top